Going with the Flow!


At the end of last year, I decided to start this little blog up for real, and stick to it! And then I found a little WordPress course called “Blogging 101: Zero to Hero”, and I decided although I know enough about blogging to set up a blog and write in it, I’m not used to using the WordPress platform to do so, and even if all I take away from this is cool tips to make my blog look pretty and get a few ideas of what this here little site can do, then I’m not really losing anything.

The idea behind the Blogging 101 course, is to set a task each weekday to help you start/give your current blog a boost/new image and make some new blogging friends in the meantime. The problem with this is that I’m a busy lass, and as much as I’d love to stick with the whole “do each task each day” thing and have weekends off, it’s just not going to happen this early on! I want to build up my own rhythm, and there is nowhere in the course that says you have to do it all on time, or even do it all! So here I am, going with the flow, almost 3 days behind! But it’s no problem, because this is MY blog, and I can do whatever I want 😉

Righty, so last Thursday, I was asked to write to my dream reader… But I don’t know who that is yet, at the moment I’m just writing for me and seeing how it goes! I guess, I could say I want future me to read this but I have no idea how I’ll turn out in 10, 20, or even 30 more years! I also want this blog to meet similar minded people, with similar habits and a keen eye for crafty-ness! And seeing as none of my recent projects are complete atm, I have decided that I will use this post and Friday’s task (Love Your Theme) to address my dream readers!

So, we’re all aware of how surroundings that make you happy, make you work better and more efficiently and you just LOVE what you’re doing a little bit more, right?! Well, that’s the thing I need to do with my blog, give it a little makeover, make it easier to read aaaaand just have fun playing with different things on the site! So this is what I’m starting with, my current (old) theme, Oxygen:

In the beginning

Now there is nothing wrong with this theme, it’s clean and all that, but it’s also very meh! I’m not really too fussed about it, and I’m pretty sure it’s not doing my blog any favours… so three more themes, I shall try!

I started with WordPress’s Twenty Fifteen – well, why not?! that is THIS year!

New Theme Number 1!

Buuut as much as I love pink and the big image, the font is too big (and I’m not a Premium User, so I can’t change this) and I don’t like the look of the side bar menu thing. Another big problem is that my custom header that I made doesn’t work with this layout. I spent a lot of time creating that image and I want to keep it for now, so let’s see what other themes might work better!!

I thought Customise Pink 2 might be the one – I mean check this out, it’s really really cute!

take 3

It has my header and the font size is appropriate and it’s clean and cute! The problem with this little lady is that the widgets are all down at the bottom of the page in the footer. But I want them down the side! No one is going to scroll all the way down to find a link to my About Me page, or to see my other widgets, so this one has to go!

Let’s try this one more time, shall we?…

So the third, and final, one I tried was this one called Sorbet, I love sorbet as a dessert, especially Mango flavour, and that may be partly the reason why I was drawn to this one! I’m still not too sure how I feel about it yet, I guess if I don’t like it after a few days I can continue to play around with this style or other themes, but I managed to make a few swift changes to my header image so that it matched the header of the page, so I’m happy for now! I think this theme adds a little more interest to my blog though, makes it a little more fun, and it’s quite easy to navigate, in my opinion!

What do you all think? Any suggestions? Feel free to comment below!

Thanks! 🙂

Feature image is from here, all other images are my own!


One thought on “Going with the Flow!

What are your thoughts?

