Stash Busting – Wonder Woman Pyjamas 


This year, as much as I want to sew more, I also want to save more money. I’m sure many of you will agree, these often don’t go hand-in-hand.

image

I do not have a huge fabric stash, and I only have a small collection of patterns that I’ve bought / acquired over the last year or so, but after having a little sort out I have decided there are probably a few things I could put together without spending a whole lot of dosh!
One of the little ideas formed was what I like to call Wonder Woman PJ’s! I bought these fabrics years ago to make a Wonder Woman Fancy Dress outfit but, for reasons I won’t go into, it just wasn’t meant to be! The lengths of these fabrics weren’t particularly long, I think I had about a metre of each. So, as I flicked through my pattern stash, I decided PJ’s would be an appropriate style to fit into this theme and would work best with the fabric lengths!!

Photo 16-04-2016, 2 38 17 pm

 

The pattern I used was a freebie with Simply Sewing magazine, it’s a simple Pyjama pattern by The Makery. The pattern consists of a strappy pyjama top with a gathered bust and an elasticated back and some super simple shorts with a tie waist.

Photo 16-04-2016, 2 31 22 pm

In order to save pennies (and in a bid to not leave the house to buy ribbon), I made my PJ shorts with an elasticated waist and mock ribbon ties at the front. I also decided to make my own straps instead of using a ribbon to match the one used on the shorts.

Photo 16-04-2016, 2 33 44 pm

Both pieces are made in a lightweight cotton, which was really easy to work with.

They didn’t take particularly long to sew either, I did each piece in their own sitting, leaving the fella to watch a film and play on the Xbox at the other end of the room. I do want to add a Wonder Woman themed emblem onto the front but haven’t quite got round to it yet!

Photo 16-04-2016, 2 31 43 pm

This was one of the first projects where I have properly used the overlocker the fella bought me for my birthday and Christmas present last year. I absolutely love it, even just for its basic stitch!! I can’t wait to try out more of its features!!

image

So with this and my sewing machine cover, I’ve started clearing a small amount of space in my fabric shelves and using up good fabric without spending a penny!! What sorts of things do you do to use up short lengths of fabric in your stash?


 

What are your thoughts?

